About the event

Appearing at a café near you.

Just come along – enjoy a cup of tea and a piece of cake with a FREE short performance inspired by the poetry of e e cummings, the music of Robert Plant and the Ladybird Books for Grown-Ups.

Chocolate, DIY, husbands and the pagan fire-ritual of Beltane are just some of the subjects in these 20 minutes of spoken word, dance and the odd joke.

Performances of The Tea Set are FREE and are set to take place on the following dates:

  • Saturday 16 June at 2pm & 3.30pm: Canvas Coffee Shop, Portsmouth & Southsea Station, PO1 1EQ
  • Monday 18 June at 3pm & 4.30pm: Guildhall Café, Guildhall Square, PO1 2AB
  • Tuesday 19 June at 3pm: Like A Tea Tray in The Sky, 31 Osborne Road, PO5 3LR
  • Thursday 21 June at 2pm & 3.30pm: Aspex Gallery, The Vulcan Building, Gunwharf Quays, PO1 3BF
  • Monday 25 June at 2.30pm & 3.30pm: Southsea Tennis Club Café, Clarence Esplanade, PO5 3PB
  • Tuesday 26 June at 11.30pm: Waterstones, 115 Commercial Road, PO1 1BU
  • Tuesday 26 June at 1.30pm: Lily and Lime, Norrish Central Library, Guildhall Square, PO1 2DX
  • Wednesday 27 June at 4pm: Hunter Gatherer, 249 Albert Road, PO6 3DD
  • Thursday 28 June at 11.30am & 1.30pm: Waterstones, 115 Commercial Road, PO1 1BU
  • Friday 29 June at 12pm & 2pm: Norrish Central Library, Guildhall Square, PO1 2DX
  • Saturday 30 June at 2pm & 3pm: Southsea Library, 19 – 21 Palmerston Road, PO5 3QQ

The New Theatre Royal Dancers and New Theatre Royal Players are two companies of dancers, movers, actors and writers aged 55 and over who share a passion for performance. Led by experienced and professional practitioners, they meet at the New Theatre Royal and explore a range of dance and theatre styles.

The Players and Dancers often work together on joint projects. Click here for more information.